Becoming A Proverbs 31 Woman Day 12

Her husband is known in the gates, When he sits among the elders of the land. (‭Proverbs‬ ‭31‬:‭23‬ NKJV)

I don’t know much about this era, so I did a commentary search on this particular verse and found this:

1Such a woman advances her husband’s interests, increases his influence, and, by attending to his domestic concerns, enables him to take his share in public matters, so that his name is in great repute in the popular assemblies at the city gates. She is indeed “a crown to her husband.”

I couldn’t agree more!

During year one and two of me and sir Jonathan’s marriage, I was selfishly pursuing my own writing career, not really seeking to advance hubby’s interests. I knew he wanted to pursue film-making, but I didn’t support him because I was too busy writing eight hours a day or so.

A Proverbs 31 Woman looks out for her man. She supports his endeavors, his calling. This past April, I helped hubby on his first big film project (this book trailer for a Christian brother). I put out the casting calls, hired the cast (with his approval), picked out costumes, and edited the final product. When it was all said and done, sir Jonathan told me, “I couldn’t have done it without you.”

Helping him advance his goal was a beautiful bonding experience and I further discovered how God knit me together in such a way to be a great helper to my husband. And it was satisfying too, walking in my role as a godly wife.

When you choose to support hubby’s interests, naturally, his influence grows. And when you take care of business at home, you free him up to do even more for the Lord.

I think some wives are down because they feel like they aren’t doing anything with their life. They assume a career will satisfy, making a name for themselves will satisfy. But truly, I wonder how many of these women are doing all of the above? Advancing their husband’s interests, increasing his influence, and taking care of the home and children. I think many women do the last of these three, but sometimes they stop at that.

I would challenge every wife to try to help advance hubby’s goals. Maybe make some phone calls for him (be an assistant), respond to emails, or set up a calendar for him. Read over his stories if he’s a writer, offer your opinion. This will not only make you more like the Proverbs 31 Woman, but it will vastly benefit and strengthen your marriage as well.

Proverbs 31 Woman Prayer

Lord, thank You for Your powerful Word. God, I know I can do all things through Christ who gives me strength. I know it is Your will for me to help my husband in more ways than I thought, so I pray You open up my mind to those areas where I can truly help and be a blessing to him. Please help me embrace and love my role as helper, and further discover why You created me the way You did, and the gifts You’ve given me to be a crown to my husband’s head. Please equip my husband to be an honorable man who can have a greater scope of influence. I pray You bless his endeavors and that he glorifies You through them, in Jesus’ name, amen.

References
1.) http://biblehub.com/proverbs/31-23.htm

Leave a Reply

