Becoming A Proverbs 31 Woman Day 11

She makes her own bed coverings; her clothing is fine linen and purple. (‭Proverbs‬ ‭31‬:‭22‬ HCSB)

Like we’ve already established, this Proverbs 31 woman is an excellent seamstress, but I don’t think every woman needs to become one in order to be a powerful and godly woman.

Apparently, the Proverbs 31 Woman dresses nicely as well. Again, this isn’t so much a character trait—outward appearance—but it’s mentioned here for a reason.

Not every woman can afford “fine linen.” I know I sure can’t. In fact, I go shopping for a few pieces of clothing literally once a year—if that, and it’s usually because someone bought me a Marshall’s gift card for Christmas.

I used to be really into how I look—before I surrendered to Christ. I confess, it’s been five years walking with my Lord and I only care less and less. I hardly wear make-up anymore. I don’t spend money on hair products (besides shampoo/conditioner). I still wear some of the same clothes I wore in high school. I don’t like designer stuff.

But, I think if I did have a good amount of extra money to spare, I may buy a few pretty affordable dresses. I like modest, dainty, flowy, princessy dresses that you can wear regularly, not just on special occasions. (Funny, before I surrendered to Christ I wore mostly black and dark colors, and hated bright colors and dresses).

I think this one’s somewhat of a toss-up. We know Paul says in the New Testament:

Your beauty should not consist of outward things like elaborate hairstyles and the wearing of gold ornaments or fine clothes. Instead, it should consist of what is inside the heart with the imperishable quality of a gentle and quiet spirit, which is very valuable in God’s eyes. For in the past, the holy women who put their hope in God also beautified themselves in this way, submitting to their own husbands, just as Sarah obeyed Abraham, calling him lord. You have become her children when you do what is good and are not frightened by anything alarming. (‭1 Peter‬ ‭3‬:‭3-6‬)

So a godly woman doesn’t dress sloppy and immodestly, but she doesn’t go overboard with flashy jewelry and intricate hair-styles either.

It seems to me that she has a simple beauty. She doesn’t look like the world with their decadent jewelry and crazy hair-do’s. She doesn’t try to draw attention to herself with all that extra flash. She’s more concerned with her inward beauty, which is very valuable in the eyes of God, who—unlike other people—can see into the heart. So although a woman may be stunning on the outside, God looks beyond that and into her heart and turns away in disgust and anger at what He sees deep inside.

I care a lot more now about the purity of my heart than my outward beauty. It’s a work Christ has done in me, to have me truly grasp that He sees my heart and thoughts everyday and by His grace, He’s made both pure.

But dear sisters, know that sin in the heart is ugly to God, repulsive to Him. Remember how brutally Christ died for sin? That’s how much God hates it. The bible says God’s wrath was poured out on Christ, His wrath toward our sin. And remember how Revelation describes God’s righteous judgment on sinners? Sores, bloody rivers, huge locusts that sting people with scorpion-stingers, 100 lb hail that crushes those on earth. He loathes sin.

So may we trust His Words in Romans chapter 6 and 7, and no longer let sin have dominion over us. You can defeat it and literally not even sin in your mind. That is how pure Christ can make you if you take Him at His word. That’s how beautiful you can become, that the King of the universe peers into your heart and smiles and delights in what He sees, and looks forward to the day when He tells you in person: Well done, My good and faithful servant.

Husbands, love your wives, just as Christ loved the church and gave Himself for her to make her holy, cleansing her with the washing of water by the word. He did this to present the church to Himself in splendor, without spot or wrinkle or anything like that, but holy and blameless. (‭Ephesians‬ ‭5‬:‭25-27‬)

Proverbs 31 Woman Prayer

Heavenly Father, I thank You for Your truth. Please cleanse me by it. Please help me hide Your word in my heart that I may not sin against You. Help me to become pure and beautiful in Your sight, Lord. To care more about my inner beauty, which is a clean heart and mind. Help me turn my eyes from worthless things and let You sanctify me. Amen.

2 thoughts on “Becoming A Proverbs 31 Woman Day 11

  1. Alexandria Bella says:

    I have experienced how this is so true. One time my mother car wasn’t working so we walk to church. On our way, we saw many of our church members with extravagant hats and fancy clothes speed past us, some who even hold positions on the pulpit. Obviously we was going to the same church since we was walking towards the street in that directions, and our clothes made it even more obvious. My church isn’t even that big and I’ve been going there from birth. So even if they didn’t know us personally most chances half of those cars knew we were members. After church on our way back home, walking, this lady with plain clothes and an old looking car -who I never saw before-stop and gave us a ride. I notice how her car was almost on E and she doesn’t live close to use YET she still gave us a ride.

    This might be simple for other people, but I’m a person who likes to analyze everything. And from that day I stop caring what other people assume of me. It just really doesn’t matter. I stop caring that my family can’t afford for me to go shopping every summer. Today at church I wore a dress I had atleast 2-3 yrs now and have even older clothes. I use to be self conscience about it now… it just doesn’t matter!

    • betterthanedward says:

      Amen sister! That’s a beautiful story. It is sad, many go to church for a show. They just go to look holy (even though with all that flash they don’t look holy, but self-centered), and they don’t live like Christ. He was humble and poor. I’m glad you are not overly concerned with your appearance, it’s a bondage.

Leave a Reply

