Becoming A Proverbs 31 Woman Day 10

She is not afraid of snow for her household, For all her household is clothed with scarlet. (‭Proverbs‬ ‭31‬:‭21)

There’s a destructive notion in our culture that is rather popular: put yourself first.

But the Proverbs 31 Woman does not put herself first. The needs of others take precedence in her life, and in this case, it is the needs of her family. She ensures her loved ones are prepared for the harsh winter season, and she takes care that the clothing she supplies is also of good-quality. She tends to go the extra mile, this Proverbs 31 Woman. She doesn’t just throw something together. This loving mother makes sure her family has garbs that won’t fail them.

She foresees what will happen, and wisely prepares for it. This also shows me she is considerate. She does not just think about herself. The needs of others and how she can meet them are on the fore-front of her mind.

Just contemplating this is convicting me.

How often throughout the day am I consciously thinking about the needs of others and how I can meet those needs?

Surely, during prayer I am thinking about the needs of others, but then what do I do afterward?

I live with my husband, my father-in-law, a dog and a cat. How often am I thinking about/meeting their needs?

Yes, I make breakfast for hubby, and make sure he eats his vitamins, but then what? I’ll read the Word and then a blog will come to mind. I’ll pray that the blog is used by God to encourage and edify those who read it, and so I write it. But then I go on Facebook after. Why? To seek out people who have needs and see how I can help or encourage them?

Not really. I go on to either share a verse that spoke to me or just as reflex to check comments and messages etc.

When I babysit, I make sure the kids eat and that the place is picked up, but even so, comparing myself to the Proverbs 31 Woman, I’m sure I can think of/meet the needs of others more than I’m doing now.

I believe this will take, as always, prayer, but also mind-training. Since my mind is in a current routine, I need to train it to think more about others’ needs. I need to go beyond the physical needs of my husband and think also about his emotional and spiritual needs. Surely he needs my encouragement everyday, but he may also need other things I miss because I’m not taking the time to contemplate his needs.

So this is my personal challenge and my challenge to you ladies. Take at least five minutes out to think about those closest to you. Really consider their needs, and in what ways you can meet those needs. Then, act on them.

Ready … set … Go!

Proverbs 31 Woman Prayer

Father, in Jesus’ name I thank You so much again for the demonstration of a powerful woman of God. I pray that You would please help me to think of the needs of others and to meet those needs in whatever ways I can. I pray You will show me ways I can help those around me and that I would act on it. May I spend less time distracting my mind with social media, and more time exercising it to think about others. Amen.

Leave a Reply

