I’m A Woman So What Do You Want From Me, God?

I am mind-blown right now at all the revelation I received while deliberating God’s will for women with my lovely-spirited sister, Natalia.

“Older women likewise are to be reverent in behavior, not slanderers or slaves to much wine. They are to teach what is good, and so train the young women to love their husbands and children, to be self-controlled, pure, working at home, kind, and submissive to their own husbands, that the word of God may not be reviled.” (Titus 2:3-5)

So I would have younger widows marry, bear children, manage their households, and give the adversary no occasion for slander. (1 Timothy 5:14)

Let a woman learn quietly with all submissiveness. I do not permit a woman to teach or to exercise authority over a man; rather, she is to remain quiet. For Adam was formed first, then Eve; and Adam was not deceived, but the woman was deceived and became a transgressor. Yet she will be saved through childbearing—if they continue in faith and love and holiness, with self-control. (1 Timothy 2:11-15)

1.) I realized I’m selfish.

I’ve pursued career my whole marriage. I’ve wanted to write and get my books out there. Babies were on the back-burner. I had “kingdom business” to accomplish for God, and in my pursuits, I many times neglected my husband. Not only did I neglect him relationally, but I was depraved of wifely duties that my husband really needed me to do I.e cooking and cleaning. He lost a lot of weight and our apartment was almost always a terrible mess. Why? Because I was working out in the field and when I was home I was working on “God’s business.”

Not saying if you have a gift you can never do anything for The Lord with it. I am saying we need to prioritize accordingly. As much as we don’t like to admit it:

For man was not made from woman, but woman from man. Neither was man created for woman, but woman for man. (1 Corinthians 11:8, 9)

And

Then the Lord God said, “It is not good that the man should be alone; I will make him a helper fit for him.” (Genesis 2:18)

How have I been helping my husband accomplish the dreams God has for Him? Yes, I’ve been praying, but what else have I been doing? I’ll tell you what I’ve been doing:

Working my tush off to get my books published and read.

For the past three years of our marriage my husband has been sacrificing his dreams of being a film-maker so he can financially support my books. And how much fruit has been produced from those books?

Not much.

I can prioritize and write and work on my books after I’ve number one, spent time with God, and number two, made sure our house is in order. When he leaves to work in the field I can work on my books.

2.) women chasing careers is quite a new phenomenon and a satanic distraction.

For how many if thousands of years did women stay at home, taking care of it, and building up their children, loving them and their husbands? The fruit of their “simple” lives was incredible. Look at all the great men of old that did astounding revivals for the Lord that quite frankly, ya just don’t see too much of nowadays.

Now I know it’s not completely up to the mother, the absentee fathers screw up a lot of things, but family is incredibly vital to the advancement of God’s will on earth.

What’s the first thing God commanded Adam and Eve to do? Be fruitful and multiply. What does Malachi 2 say God seeks? Godly offspring. That should be my main priority after my relationship with Christ: producing godly children for Him.

This is the revelation I received, and I plan on practicing what I’m preaching. Please do hold me accountable to this. Feel free to ask how I’m doing and give tips on how you (wives), take care of your home and children. Please also pray that we would have children soon.

I love you ladies.

What do you think about this revelation? Please do share your thoughts in a comment.

6 thoughts on “I’m A Woman So What Do You Want From Me, God?

  1. jssberry says:

    I’m selfish too. I still needs lots of work in that department. Reading this, I’m single but when I think about “giving up” my dreams for home and family…I honestly don’t know if I could do it. Even in my relationship with God, I studied my Word the other day and one of the thing He addressed with me was my reluctance to give up control to Him. There is this thought that if I give up total control then I’m putting myself under His thumb–and I know that’s a lie, because by giving control to God we gain freedom from bondage and all the things holding us captive, but it’s something I have to process for myself.

    I think one of the biggest things I have to work on understanding is that just because your dreams are put on hold doesn’t mean they’ll never come true. God is just saying, “Wait, not just yet.” He didn’t say, “No, I changed My mind,” or “No, that’s not going to happen,” especially when He gave it to me Himself.

    Thanks for this. It’s given me a lot to think about.

    • betterthanedward says:

      Thank you as always for commenting :)) it’s so beautiful to hear and open and honest heart who sees their struggle and wants to work on it. That’s honorable sister. Keep being real with God. We’re all works in progress, but the key word is progress. We’re not what we can be, but definitely not what we used to be.

      Much love to you!

  2. LB Song says:

    Natasha,

    Thanks for being transparent in your post. It seems that so many Christian wives in the blogosphere front that they’ve “made it,” since they’re now married. Your post proves that in Christ we all have room to grow on our journey with Him. I think it’s so hard for women in our generation to understand and value the satisfaction that comes from taking care of your house, husband and children. I suspect the reason for this is because we were taught satisfaction comes from competing with men in the business world and making money to buy red-bottomed shoes and Coach bags. I hope more young women realize that investing in your loved ones is so much more satisfying than prioritizing careers (which of course aren’t bad in and of themselves). One day I pray that God blesses me with a godly husband and a godly seed to raise for His glory but I have to be honest: I hate cooking and cleaning! I feel like if I’m slaving away at home what’s in it for me?! Lol. Praying for you!

    • betterthanedward says:

      Haha! Thank you for your transparency girl! I surely haven’t made it, but I’m working on it. God is so graceful. I love that we don’t have to try and perform for Him to impress Him. He is much more concerned with what’s hidden in our hearts.

      I will keep you in prayer as well sis!

      Much love <33

Leave a Reply

