I Have Feelings For God

Loving God isn’t supposed to be based on emotions, on how He makes you feel when you praise Him or pray. I love my husband, but all those intense euphoric feelings we had during our courtship have faded. If our love was based on emotions, we would’ve divorced after the honeymoon.
Sure there are joyful moments and romantic memories, as there are at times with God. But the Lord knows if our love for Him only lasted because of how He makes us feel, it wouldn’t be real love, it’d be selfishness. We’d only spend time with Him for what we get out of it, for the euphoric feelings we get when praising Him.
So no, we don’t always feel those things. In the five years I’ve walked with Jesus there’s been a handful of times where I experienced what being filled with His Spirit feels like, and it was definitely the greatest high I’ve ever had and quite indescribable, but if He let me experience that every time I prayed and praised, I’d stay at home all day and never walk in the good works He predestined me to walk in. And like I said earlier, my love for Him would be solely based on how He makes me feel rather than the fact that He’s completely worthy of all my love and devotion because He’s my Creator, my Father who has done everything for me and given me everything I need and more through His only begotten Son. I’d ignore His Word if He allowed me to feel the crazy sensations I’ve felt before, and rather than a useful daughter, I’d be a selfish Holy-Spirit-sensation addict. I’m grateful for the times I’ve undeniably experienced a taste of what God feels like, but I’m more grateful that He’s reserved the fullness of that experience for heaven, for when my work down here is finished.
So dear brother or sister, if you’ve based your alone-time with God off of how you’re going to feel when you do, please stop. After a while (if it hasn’t already), you’re not going to feel euphoric sensations anymore and like many, you’ll walk away because your love wasn’t based on who He is, but on how He made you feel. That’s how the world does “love”–it’s all about feelings. How you feel with the person, rather than on what real love is:

Loving God isn’t supposed to be based on emotions, on how He makes you feel when you praise Him or pray. I love my husband, but all those intense euphoric feelings we had during our courtship have faded. If our love was based on emotions, we would’ve divorced after the honeymoon.
Sure there are joyful moments and romantic memories, as there are at times with God. But the Lord knows if our love for Him only lasted because of how He makes us feel, it wouldn’t be real love, it’d be selfishness. We’d only spend time with Him for what we get out of it, for the euphoric feelings we get when praising Him.
So no, we don’t always feel those things. In the five years I’ve walked with Jesus there’s been a handful of times where I experienced what being filled with His Spirit feels like, and it was definitely the greatest high I’ve ever had and quite indescribable, but if He let me experience that every time I prayed and praised, I’d stay at home all day and never walk in the good works He predestined me to walk in. And like I said earlier, my love for Him would be solely based on how He makes me feel rather than the fact that He’s completely worthy of all my love and devotion because He’s my Creator, my Father who has done everything for me and given me everything I need and more through His only begotten Son. I’d ignore His Word if He allowed me to feel the crazy sensations I’ve felt before, and rather than a useful daughter, I’d be a selfish Holy-Spirit-sensation addict. I’m grateful for the times I’ve undeniably experienced a taste of what God feels like, but I’m more grateful that He’s reserved the fullness of that experience for heaven, for when my work down here is finished.
So dear brother or sister, if you’ve based your alone-time with God off of how you’re going to feel when you do, please stop. After a while (if it hasn’t already), you’re not going to feel euphoric sensations anymore and like many, you’ll walk away because your love wasn’t based on who He is, but on how He made you feel. That’s how the world does “love”–it’s all about feelings. How you feel with the person, rather than on what real love is:

Love suffers long and is kind; love does not envy; love does not parade itself, is not puffed up; does not behave rudely, does not seek its own, is not provoked, thinks no evil; does not rejoice in iniquity, but rejoices in the truth; bears all things, believes all things, hopes all things, endures all things. Love never fails. (1 Corinthians 13:4-8)

Nowhere are feelings mentioned in the above passage, because like I said, there are moments of that, but that’s not love, it’s a gift from God, a temporary by-product of happiness–or infatuation. But real love “suffers long” and “doesn’t seek its own.” That means when the feelings fade and life gets rough, (or your human spouse messes up), you hold fast and don’t give up, you sacrifice. That’s what real love is: sacrifice without selfish motives. Jesus said it best:

Greater love has no one than this, that someone lay down his life for his friends. (John 15:13)

Jesus actually did this, He gave His own perfect life for us:

… but God shows his love for us in that while we were still sinners, Christ died for us. (Romans 5:8)

And that kind of love–despite how I feel–deserves all of my love.

Know your worth,
Natasha above passage, because like I said, there are moments of that, but that’s not love, it’s a gift from God, a temporary by-product of happiness–or infatuation. But real love “suffers long” and “doesn’t seek its own.” That means when the feelings fade and life gets rough, (or your human spouse messes up), you hold fast and don’t give up, you sacrifice. That’s what real love is: sacrifice without selfish motives. Jesus said it best:

Greater love has no one than this, that someone lay down his life for his friends. (John 15:13)

Jesus actually did this, He gave His own perfect life for us:

… but God shows his love for us in that while we were still sinners, Christ died for us. (Romans 5:8)

And that kind of love–despite how I feel–deserves all of my love.

Know your worth,
Natasha

One thought on “I Have Feelings For God

Leave a Reply

