All right, I’m annoyed. Love is NOT an emotion, people!

I’m pretty sure I’ve blogged about this before, but I think some of us need a reminder. Love is NOT an emotion. Sure, emotions can and do stem from the *act* of love, but they aren’t the real thing.

See, love is really an *action*. It is is something that continually perseveres, it’s unconditional, meaning it isn’t selfish. It does not seek its own e.g. “If you love me, you’ll have sex with me.” Sometimes our guise of love does a better job at disguising our selfishness. I know that in my life, in all the past relationships I endured before my husband, my selfishness was so invisible to me I thought my exes were always wrong. Wrong for not wanting to come over to see me when the poor guy had spent all his gas seeing me every day before then. Wrong for not doing everything I wanted him to do. Love is so not about what you get out of it. If it’s about your “feelings” then I’m so sorry friend, you’re doing it, well, wrong.

Love is synonymous with sacrifice. It says, “No matter what, I won’t give up on you,” and really doesn’t. It’s patient, it’s “long-suffering” as the Bible calls it. It’s kind, it’s not envious. It’s not a shallow butterfly feeling that eventually flies away. Remember those famous vows, “Through richer or poorer, in sickness and in health, in good times and BAD, I will stick with you.” Love is a commitment, a promise that never fails.

I know some of you reading this may very well be thinking, “My goodness hon’, wake up, that kind of love doesn’t exist.” Oh, but it does. His name is Yahweh. He sent His ONLY Son to die for you and me, because we just cannot live a perfect life–because no matter how good we think we are, we’ve still lied, taken something that didn’t belong to us, used His name in vain, lusted, and/or coveted, breaking His moral law. He sees and knows every wrong thing we’ve ever done. He knows how some of us would mock the name of Jesus, even go so far as to say He never even existed, completely shunning the sacrifice He made on that rugged cross, yet still, He sent Him to die for us. Why? So we can be condemned? No, it’s just the opposite: so that we wouldn’t be! 

“For God did not send the Son into the world in order to judge (to reject, to condemn, to pass sentence on) the world, but that the world might find salvation and be made safe and sound through Him.”-John 17: (Amplified)

That’s true love, when someone knows every single bad thing about you yet accepts you, believes in you, and desires nothing more than a right relationship with you. That kind of love does exist, in the Person of God the Father and His Son Jesus Christ. I promise you no one will ever love you better, and guarantee there is no one on this planet who has ever done all that He did for you. No religion, no organization, no spouse, no boyfriend or girlfriend, no friend, no pet dog or cat, no one.

If you have yet to experience this kind of love, the great news is that it’s available to everyone. All you have to do is ask God to come into your life, to forgive you for your mess-ups, and confess Jesus as the One who saved you and suffered hell for 3 days before rising again to set you free from death and give you the gift of eternal life (heaven). It’s that simple. If you ask Him into your heart, He’ll come. And His love will never, ever leave you.

Leave a Reply

