CONTROVERSY ALERT! I don’t hate homosexuals, but I don’t agree with the lifestyle.

Here’s where I’m coming from: If I say I’m a Bible believing Christian, I’d be a hypocrite and unfaithful to the God I serve if I said I agree with homosexuality, because yes, the Bible does clearly call it a sin, just as it says heterosexual sex outside of marriage is a sin. Now, because I do not agree with the lifestyle does NOT mean I hate homosexuals. I have several homosexual friends, and one of them being a best friend, and they can certainly attest to the fact that I love them no less than anyone else. This is my thing: I love them, and I love God and because of these factors, I disagree with the lifestyle. Number one: if God says something, I go with it. He’s God, I’m not. Secondly, even in nature, in our very design, we are specifically created to be sexually compatible with the opposite sex. Hence the reason women have three holes: one for urination, one for sexual intercourse, and one for excretion. The male has two as well, one for urination and one for excretion. I think it’s clear by our makeup that it’s natural for woman to sexually engage man, and unnatural for woman to engage with woman and man to engage with man.

Therefore God also gave them up to uncleanness, in the lusts of their hearts, to dishonor their bodies among themselves,  25 who exchanged the truth of God for the lie, and worshiped and served the creature rather than the Creator…For even their women exchanged the natural use for what is against nature.  Likewise also the men, leaving the natural use of the woman, burned in their lust for one another, men with men committing what is shameful.-Romans 1:24-27

And lastly, I disagree with it (just as I do any form of premarital sex), because it is destructive, both emotionally and physically.

During 2009, there were an estimated 42,959 new diagnoses of HIV infection in the 40 states and five dependent areas. Adult or adolescent males accounted for three-quarters of new HIV diagnoses. The main transmission route among males was male-to-male sexual contact (74%), followed by heterosexual contact (14%)

http://www.avert.org/usa-statistics.htm

I think that yes, some “Christians” (which I’d argue that if these people hate homosexuals, they’re not really Christians, but as the Bible says, “if anyone says, ‘I love God,’ but hates his brother is a liar), have attributed to the emotional distress homosexuals suffer from, but I believe the society and media that say, “It’s okay, you were born this way,” are just as guilty. Allow me to explain.

I think it’s natural for a person who discovers they’re attracted to the opposite sex to feel confused or ashamed, or suffer from feelings of guilt: why, because I believe their own consciences and the natural way of their design tells them it is wrong, that something is not right with being attracted to the same sex. But then, they get the conflicting messages of those who says, “No, no, it’s okay, it’s okay, accept your feelings, embrace them, you were born this way,” is an insufficient pacifier, something that kind of makes them feel like it is okay, so they fight their conscience until it quiets, or ignore it until they no longer hear conflicting messages within their own selves.

“What are you saying Natasha?”

I’m saying, the Bible says, “The heart is deceitful and wicked, who can know it?” The heart spurs on lots of wicked stuff: lust, jealousy, envy, bitterness, unforgiveness, hate. All of these feelings flow from the heart, as does the feelings of lust for the same sex. This occurs because the person’s heart is not right with God; it has yet to be given over to Him completely, which happens to be the first commandment:

You shall love the Lord your God with all your heart, with all your soul, and with all your strength.-Deuteronomy 6:5

Then I will give them one heart, and I will put a new spirit within them, and take the stony heart out of their flesh, and give them a heart of flesh,  that they may walk in My statutes and keep My judgments and do them; and they shall be My people, and I will be their God. But as for those whose hearts follow the desire for their detestable things and their abominations, I will recompense their deeds on their own heads,” says the Lord God.-Ezekiel 11:19-21

“Therefore I will judge you, O house of Israel, every one according to his ways,” says the Lord God. “Repent, and turn from all your transgressions, so that iniquity will not be your ruin. Cast away from you all the transgressions which you have committed, and get yourselves a new heart and a new spirit. For why should you die, O house of Israel? For I have no pleasure in the death of one who dies,” says the Lord God. “Therefore turn and live!-Ezekiel 18:30-32

If God can change the heart of an abusive husband, a drug addict, an adulterer, a liar, an unforgiving and bitter heart, He can change the heart of the homosexual. What is homosexuality: it is a sin of rebellion, just as premarital sex is, drug abuse is, lying is, envying is, greed is. It’s a heart issue, it is the outward expression of a heart that is not submitted to and aligned with God. Before I surrendered my *whole* heart to God late in my bedroom that fateful night, my rebellion was displayed in drinking, and sexual immorality (I did not lose my virginity by the grace of God alone, because Lord knows I tried, but I did engage in sexual activity). Although I prayed every night, my heart was not right with God. I had yet to humble myself and allow Him to have His way with my desires. When I did that, my heart changed. Over a very short period of time I had stopped cursing, had no desire to drink, was more patient, and had tons of other new desires like abstaining from sex till marriage, actually wanting to prepare my heart for marriage, I desired to read the Bible that collected dust for so many years, desired to go to church and get to know this amazing God who had revealed Himself to me, who had reached out to me when I cried out to Him on the night my heart shattered for real. So this is why I’m honest about my views for the homosexual, because I’d much rather tell them what I am convinced is the truth, than to ease their mind by telling them, “It’s okay, you were born this way,” and then have them die and face God’s judgement with a heart that never gave in to His will, but “lived a lie.” I’m bold because I actually love homosexuals. So many people, “accept them,” but true love is putting yourself out there, facing the consequence of rebuke and backlash and persecution for your beliefs, because you don’t want to see the homosexual die without a heart submitted to God, and suffer eternal consequences. The Bible says, “Do you not know that the unrighteous will not inherit the kingdom of God? Do not be deceived. Neither fornicators, nor idolaters, nor adulterers, nor homosexuals, nor sodomites, nor thieves, nor covetous, nor drunkards, nor revilers, nor extortioners will inherit the kingdom of God.”-1 Corinthians 6:9-10. I reach out to homosexuals, because my heart goes out to them, because the love of Christ compels me to tell them the truth. If you disagree with me, my prayer is you won’t take up a case with me, but you’d take one up with God. That you would cry out to Him and ask Him what the truth is. If you seek Him sincerely, He will reveal Himself to you–and trust me, His love is better than any earthly relationship you will ever have. His love is worth laying your heart and desires on the line for. He made you, He has plans for you, but it’s your choice to follow them or not. He promises they are for your good, not harm, to give you a future and a hope, and that His plans for you are, “pleasing and perfect.” May you embrace the gift of God: complete forgiveness and cleansing, transformation and a new life, through the death of His Son Jesus. He can transform your heart, and fill the void with the love you really need, the love that truly satisfies and does not damage or harm you. With love,

Natasha

4 thoughts on “CONTROVERSY ALERT! I don’t hate homosexuals, but I don’t agree with the lifestyle.

  1. Nonnie Mouse says:

    I totally agree. You made a wonderful post here. I do not hate anyone. Jesus taught us to love one another, not to hate. However, I will never agree with their lifestyle, and I will never agree to recognize same-sex marriages. It angers me that people expect us to be accepting of that lifestyle, telling us that we are hateful if we don’t agree with it. Then only thing I can do instead of argue is just pray that they leave me alone and take a good look at what they are saying. You are right on the money here. As I said, I do not hate anyone, hint to Westboro Baptist Church.

    • betterthanedward says:

      Thank you so much for your comment, Nonnie. There are some self-proclaimed Christians that express hate toward the homosexual, which proves they are not true Christians for the Bible says one who hates does not have the love of God in them, and then there are times when the homosexual’s own concsience condemns them, or they are convicted by the truth so they become upset. What is important is for the Christian to love that person and share truth with them out of that love. I have several homosexual friends and they know I do not agree with their lifestyle, but they also know that I love them, and because of that, they don’t push me away. I don’t bang them over the head with what the BIble says regarding homosexuality, but I will share it with them once, and then keep them in prayer. These are issues that aren’t to be ignored, but are to be engaged with love.

  2. Mini Diaz says:

    This doesn’t make sense to me.
    You saying you don’t agree with the lifestyle of the LGBTQ community is like saying you don’t agree that 2+2=4 and that is just silly. What you are NOT doing is acknowledging the fact that homosexuality exists. No matter what any antiquated book tells you about it as all it does is justify your dismissive bias against something you don’t understand.

    • betterthanedward says:

      I don’t agree with the lifestyle because God doesn’t agree with it. I choose to to listen to and obey His opinion rather than man’s. God’s thoughts are higher than our own. I do not completely empathize with the gay community, because I was never gay, however, I understand their choice is many times affected by past sexual abuse, and that if anyone truly desires to surrender their heart to Christ, He will transform them. No sin can be overcome in our own strength. It is only in Christ that we receive the Holy Spirit who enables us to obey God, blessing us with the same power that raised Jesus from the dead. The homosexual can choose their lifestyle and cling to their false identity, or repent and give their lives to Christ, losing what they have known that they may be found anew in Him and discover their true purpose.

Leave a Reply

